2001-06-10 | 10:09 p.m.

How can listening to I'm like a Bird and sipping champagne on brownstone steps not be cool? The night was warm, the champagne chilled, and everything else was just so amazing that I can't even begin to tell you how cool it was. And I left Cubiclegirl's party early with the intention of going straight home and into bed. I was dead tired and the night was getting to me. I was getting into that zone where I just nod my head and smile while the brain is functioning elsewhere. But before the cab managed to go 3 blocks the cell phone rang and the destination was changed. And where did I end up? On the steps of my friends brownstone, satin skirt swaying with the breeze and my friend LK (who came from LA for this week and I didn't even know) telling me wonderful stories while I giggled with glee. I swear if the boy wasn't gay I'd marry him now.

And so as the night progressed we discussed everything and anything and it was just nice. I hadn't seen him in a while and the fact that he's leaving this Sunday made it even more special. The night was just clear and our minds were fuzzy after consuming bubbly and our voices became husky because we talked so much and it was just nice. Not caring and just going with it all. It's nice. I never fight those moments. I just go with them. And I did Friday night.

Saturday night was just strange. I must admit that I have not made myself mix in with crowds of the past. I chose to step away. To break off from something that took far too much time away from my life. So it was strange to step into that little world again. Truthfully I'm not sure I like it anymore. My deal is so different from theirs now that I have to laugh at the pressure I put on myself to be so friendly to them when really I want nothing they can offer me. It might be bitchy and well fucked up of me to admit that but I've acknowledged that and so why waste my time or theirs? Either way though it was good to get out and enjoy the nightlife. It would have been nicer to actually go somewhere where I wasn't scraping the bottom of the barrel but hey I knew I was going out with these people so I kinda knew what to expect. So that was Saturday.

And today, in the midst of the Puerto Rican Day Parade I awoke to people shouting and pumping car horns outside my window. By no means am I bothered by parades but come on now...some people like to sleep in. If your going to be all loud and crazy then do so near the parade and not in residential areas. It's a little disrespectful if you ask me. I'm all for partying and having fun but a little moderation should be used when your walking up and down streets that people live in and can obviously hear your screams and LOUD car horns blowing every 5 seconds.

URGH....

But the evening finished off nicely with a little Sex & the City. And all that is left now is for me to take a relaxing bubble bath before my head hits the pillow. Because another week is beginning and this time at the end of this new week I will be turning 25. 25! I can't even believe I'm another year older. Older, and lets hope smarter.

Later Kid's - momma's outta here.



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter