2003-05-21 | 12:49 a.m.

Unemployment has it's perks, I get more time to sleep, read, flip through magazines, clean, organize my room, give to charity, send resumes, bake, etc. But after I'm through with many activities I'm still left defeated. The job market isn't pretty. I've been going to contacts I've been given to by friends and co-workers. I've applied to places at HBO, MTV, and Viacom. I tell myself you never know what may happen. I want to settle with something small so I can build myself up but I have visions of a nice paycheck and being creative and actually enjoying my job that get in my way.

A good friend of mine asked me what my ideal job was. My heart spoke before my mind could catch up. To work for Jane Pratt at Jane magazine. Which is silly. I mean I read Sassy as a girl and I read Jane as a young woman. I enjoyed it then and now. That doesn't qualify into a beneficial position though. This friend told me to write her a letter, explain my situation. I'm scared to do so but hey why not? I mean I'm pretty sure she'll never end up reading it but it would make me feel like I was trying a 101% more to achieve whatever dream job I imagined in my heart.

Wow. This all seems so silly. Still the dream job would include working for a cool magazine like Jane and assisting the beauty editor. I'm not trendy so I couldn't even try to help out on the fashion side, but give me make up and suddenly I transform myself into a makeup whore. That or bags, wow if I could be a bagwhore for them it would be heaven. Yeah, my heaven.

I'm babbling. I'm also addicted to Gilmore Girls. It has to stop. Tonight's season finale had me blubbering like a fool. How a TV show was able to make me cry I'll never know. Then again I am fully surfing the crimson wave so I'm on that emotional rollercoaster.

Time for bed. I have an interview with an agency tomorrow. Doubtful that may lead to anything but going to something like that never hurt. Besides it will get me out of the house and that's good.



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter