2001-07-08 | 2:04 p.m.

Does the past repeat itself? And if that's so is the movie AI an example of how we screwed ourselves in the past and how it will return to haunt us in the present and future? Because if that's so I think I should have my shits and giggles now before we form into a mad society once again. (That's not to say we aren't mad now.) This movie was just tempestuous. I don't know how to fully explain my feelings about it. I wasn't shocked or surprised by it at all since the storyline was fairly predictable. I was overwhelmed though. And that hasn't happened in a long while when it comes to movies.

Two things are for sure. Teddy is adorable and I'd love to have him tag along for my ride. And if there's a waiting line for Jude Law as the sexbot, where do I sign up? Because I'd like to get me some of that robotic lovin if it comes pre-packaged looking like the British eye candy that he is. There's no telling what that robot could infact do ya know...*wink, wink, nudge-nudge*

You know what's funny? I thought I would end up falling asleep in the movie theatre, but instead V did. Granted we did go to see one of the latest showing's of it but as I sat there transfixed she managed to fall asleep. Poor girl was awake by 8:30 A.M. so who can blame her? Of course the fact that I woke up at 9 a.m. kinda throws that out the window but I guess she was very tired.

Anyways we pull into my apartment building, I pay the cab driver and we walk into my lobby and there before me are 2 blonde drunken creatures, practically screaming. It's so sad when you see children playing with libations. It's one thing to get buzzed. It's another to act like a spoilt brat infront of an apartment building that isn't even yours. The doorman wasn't there so I punched in the code to open the door for me and V to enter. One drunken brat starts yammering on and I just look at her as I close the door in her face. Because I know she's not from my building. I also know that I don't want idiots in my building. Especially when they are carrying coolers. C'mon now...at 3 am? Please! So she makes this pissy face and V and I enter the elevator basically making fun of her. Let the doorman deal with them for all I care. I finally give V the bag filled with stuff for M which makes me very happy and she leaves. And I stumble into bed and try not to think of the images that flashed before me on the movie screen. No easy task. Especially for a Spielberg and Kubrick movie. (Hi! Can they possibly analyze anything else to death anymore? Yeah...I'd love to know - thanks!)

Oh and before all of this, walking to the movie theatre from the Union Square stop we see this gentleman with a backpack on and a remote in hand. I'm thinking he is either going to a night shift or coming from a long day shift. Either way the guy looks odd. What's even stranger though is the fact that right infront of him is a toy truck. And I'm not talking about a fire truck. I'm talking a mini version (probably a little bit bigger than a shoebox) of a like 18 wheeler. Those big ass trucks. And he is happily passing us by as we cross the street. Remote in hand and driving the truck.

(The things you see in NYC.)

V and I just ended up bursting into a fit of giggles. Because really now it was just so out of the blue and so out there in wacky that it was rather shocking. I mean you see weird stuff in this kooky city all the time but that was just fresh. I'm telling you that you don't usually see a 30 something year old man driving a toy truck down past Webster Hall that much at all. It was funny. I wish I had toted my camera along. It would have been a classic Kodak moment!

And today...Sunday. It always seems to go by fast. I wake up and I feel that within moments I am getting back into bed to fall asleep before a new week commences. Amazing how time really does fly when you don't want it to. I didn't really do that much. Cleaned up. Organized some more since now it's turned into a habit. Keeping things in order and neat rather than have clutter. Makes me more able to focus on what I need to focus on.

I've noticed that as of late I've been going to see a lot of movies which isn't a bad thing at all. I think I just might be getting into that cycle again. For a while there I seemed to miss out the things I really wanted to catch at the movies. Now I go all the time. Just this week I saw 3 movies. Next week I want to go see Legally Blonde (because as Gingi stated it is this years Hamlet), and also the new John Cusack movie. (Because hello...the man has got talent, and wit, and Hi! He's so yummy!) So I've been a total movie buff as of late and that's ok. Better actually moving and doing stuff rather than staying still.

And now? Now I'm just going to lay back, read my book and end my Sunday right...doing absolutely nothing but sleep, eat, and watch the telly.

Later...



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter