2001-12-27 | 12:25 a.m.

I never do the new years resolution thing. But I'm going to make 2 promises to myself before this year is over. Because it's about bloody time & because I'll probably forget to write them down if I don't do it now.

1. I'm going to just do my own thing more often. This means that I'm going to stop stressing and worrying about what everyone else is doing or saying. Because I can't let it bother me anymore. It takes more energy out of me to get pissed off at people and situations than to just deal with life and people's up's and down's. No more wasting my time on stressing about stuff in general. Because I've done it too much, and I'm just so over it now.

(Granted I've spent the better part of this past year working on this one. But I can definitely say I'm there now. I've cut the fat & surrounded myself with the good stuff. And god how it's good.)

2. I'm going to have more adventures. If I can't afford to travel then I'm going to spend a lot more time doing stuff here in NYC. This city is huge and so friggen diverse. So I'm just going to go to places that I don't know of. See new spots in town. Be all random like that because life is taking that ride and not knowing where your going to end up in the end.

I'm not promising myself anymore than that. I know these 2 things I can keep for sure. I don't have to make the "I'll lose weight this year" promise because I'm going to the gym pretty much every day and I can now see my progress so I sticking to that thus needing no promises to myself. Once you see shit like that paying off you keep doing it over and over again simply because you like what you see. While I don't think I've technically lost that much weight I can honestly say that I've lost inches here and there. My pants are roomier and I don't eat as much as I used to because I get full quickly. And let's face it I'm just happy I'm active every day for an hour. If I do or don't lose weight it's all good. All that matters is that I keep exercising and eating as healthy as possible while still enjoying luxuries here and there. After all it really is all about balance and moderation of food groups. So yey! I'm not turning into granola girl but I am watching what I eat a little more which in turn makes out for happy Joaninha because she's not turning into a porkier pig!

Anyways...

I went to the gym earlier in the day, worked out for a good hour and then came home. Took a nice long hot shower because it really is getting frosty out there and then ran a few errands. Nothing exciting really. I did pick up a few DVD's when I went to exchange some for my brother. He wanted different one's and I exchanged them for him. Then I walked around the store and realized they were having a good sale in regards to some of the DVD's I wanted. So I picked up Hedwig, 10 Things, & this double DVD pack where I got this & this DVD together for the price of one. Yey! I then went to return the video's I watched with my brother the other night and saw that Blockbuster had this used DVD bin thing. I decided to check it out and came out with a brand new copy of Hannibal for a VERY small price (We're not even talking double digits here people - and to think someone wouldn't pay it for such a good flick.) As you can see I have a strange DVD collection beginning already. I'd like to think I'm eclectic when it comes to movies. Then again if anyone thinks I should see something different, then please feel free to let me know. Hell if you want you can even get me a few DVD movies! (It's all up to you, and if you don't know what to give then feel free to check the w-list.) With all this time on my hands I can always see new or old flicks I've missed. (Did anyone catch the shamelss self plug I did for my own wishlist? C'mon you gotta admit that's almost smooth.)

By the way I updated the C link. Just thought I'd share.

I made dinner for the family tonight. Wanted to give my mom a break. So I made beef stroganoff with rice and French fries and it was good. So good that my brother and dad went back for more. Made me smile. I've been watching a lot of cooking shows since it used to be a passion of mine when I was younger and I've gone back to enjoying it. Enjoying making a dish and having people devour it because it's good. Tomorrow I will try my hands at something else. Maybe even an apple pie? Not sure yet. I'll see.

But for now I'm out. I have to wake up early tomorrow to run errands with my dad. We're going downtown to exchange a few things. (EEK with the lines at the stores!) But I'll plan on toting along my digital camera to bring back some photo candy. And to get me used to using such a small camera compared to my other camera's. True I have one of those camera's that are the size of a credit card but they aren't digital and aren't as tricky. Not to say I didn't love the digital camera because let's face it, if I could I'd take it to bed with me. Wait...I probably could but then I'd end up getting all saucy and start taking photo's that I don't want to have online. So I won't go there!

Anyways I'm babbling and it's time for me to stop.

Later...



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter