2002-02-05 | 6:41 p.m.

First day of work:

� 5:30 A.M. - Get up at what I consider is the butt-crack of dawn to start getting ready for my first day of work.

� 7 A.M. - Freshly showered and in my nice suit I head out the door.

� 7:06 A.M. - Walk back into my building to grab my hat. It�s so cold that my hair is already frozen minutes into my walk.

� 7:36 A.M. � Arrive at the job in Times Square. Am greeted with way too many fluorescent lights crossing the street. I never knew that Times Square was �on� that early in the morning.

� 7:45 A.M. � Am shown around work like the new kid in school. Everyone is super friendly and sweet. So eager to help me out for no apparent reason.

� 7:58 A.M. - I meet the �boys club� that I will be working for. One of the 8 boys used to be a famous football player. The man is a giant; I literally look up to him when I speak to him.

� 8:15 A.M. � My office is shown to me. Yep you heard me right. I have an office. It�s not too big and not too small. Just right. I even have a window that overlooks a busy Times Square scene. Everything is pretty much brand new.

� 8:20 A.M. � I�m shown the ropes and get started on the small stuff. I quickly pick up stuff and start on what they really need me to do.

� 9:45 A.M. � Everyone keeps popping in and smiling and asking me if I need anything. The �boys club� have already given me their run through and are busy shoveling work my way. I smile and do it all ASAP. They crack jokes back and forth and make me feel like I�m on their team within minutes.

� 10:30 A.M. � A catalogue is handed to me and I am told to pick whatever I any supplies needed. A filing cabinet will be delivered tomorrow so I can start organizing the mess that the boys club have created already.

� 12:15 P.M. � Check my email and surf a little online. Thanks to instant internet access and a T1 line I am very happy person.

� 1:30 P.M. � One of my bosses comes into my office and tells me to take lunch whenever I want to. Oh and to feel free to drink any beverages in the lunch area refrigerator because they are all free and there for the taking.

� 1:35 P.M. � Walk into the lunch area and open the fridge. Almost fall to my knees when I see all the delectable sodas stacked up. (If you don�t know by now I�m a coca cola-holic. I absolutely love the fact that I can get one whenever I want without having to pay for it.)

� 2:15 P.M. � Order lunch and work till it gets there.

� 2:35 P.M. Serenely eat in the lunch area while finishing my magazine.

� 3:35 P.M. � Go back to work.

� 4:05 P.M. � Finish up on my projects for the day.

� 4:30 P.M. � Play online since all projects are done and everyone is both impressed and happy with me. I was going to update the diary but decided just to wait and do it at home.

� 5:00 P.M. � Pack stuff up for the day and head out.

� 5:40 P.M. � Get home and change.

All in all not a bad day at all. I was anxious to see what I would be doing and get started already. Turns out that the job isn�t that bad after all and I get to work with a great group of people. Surprising and Nice. Couldn�t have asked for anything more. Yey!



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter