2002-10-06 | 12:47 p.m.

On Friday, straight after work Kim and I went to see The Red Dragon. I'm incredibly happy I went as I had been anticipating it for quite some time. I was not disappointed at all. Ed Norton is wonderful as Will Graham in this movie, and the rest of the casting is about as perfect as anyone could ask for. There are only minor changes for the movie from the original novel, and they work better for general audiences.

My favorite part is, of course, the full frontal nudity, albeit brief, of Ralph Fiennes running up and down stairs naked. I can't help myself, he is gorgeous in general but then he goes and builds himself up for the movie so that he becomes the tones muscular villain that he is and I started to salivate. Sir Anthony Hopkins as usual is electric. There's a reason why I love that man, and it's not only because he has amazing screen presence. His character is elegant and refined, mature and brilliant, thoughtful, and always interesting.

In all honesty I loved the movie. I suggest anyone to go see it. What made the book so great, also made the movie excellent. These disgusting vile people become sympathetic characters in the hands of such a skillful novelist. In the movie Dolorhyde struggles with good and evil. In the end, the way he is outdone is tragic, because Will manages to twist the last ounce of humanity out of him. Even though the movie underplays the terrible years of child abuse with only a few brief voiceovers, you sense the great sadness of the fact that monsters are created by monsters, and feel the doom of their humanity struggling to overcome their pasts.

I was not let down with the movie at all. I was only disappointed with the people around me who clearly have no common fucking courtesy at all. I thankfully was able to tune out most of the crap going on around me. I didn't want to let anything distract me from the movie that much. I had paid for the ticket and there was no way someone was going to fuck up my lovely Red Dragon movie experience. So yeah, the movie was absolutely fabulous. Sir Anthony Hopkins as usual was superb and the scenes between Ed Norton Norton plays his character perfectly, because Graham is all inside his head looking for the killer, not a physical hero. He gets his ass kicked in fights. He is clearly terrified of Hannibal, and his voice and face show it in every confrontation. Ralph Fiennes as Dolorhyde was amazing because when he had his encounters with Reba, I was thinking, If only he could survive all this somehow. He obviously isn't a "good" man, but love could redeem him, save him. Thus turning him from the dragon back into a human. Oh and yeah, Phillip Seymor Hoffman was great in it too. As usual I see the sparks of great talent coming from him. He has yet to disappoint me in anything I've seen him in.

Moving on...

Saturday I slept in late and did nothing during the whole day. Literally nothing though. And it was bliss. Absolute bliss. Later on at night though I went out to dinner with K and R. We had a nice meal at Kate's and then walked around for a bit. Had a drink at Grassroots and then split up. I felt a bit like an old maid because by 12:15, I was already home in bed watching the end of SNL (which sucked ass by the way.) Whatever though it was a nice night.

Today I have nothing planned. I don't intend to do anything at all either. Sunday is the day where I just rest and relax and realize that I have to be up at the buttcrack of dawn the next morning. Alias is on tonight and so is The Practice. Two shows that I'll be watching later on. Apart from that though, I'm all about doing bubkiss. That's what weekends are for after all. Just to rest, relax and do nothing if you choose. And that's the way I'm going to be for Sunday.

Later...



p r e v i o u s // n e x t


Site Meter